My Highlights of the 41st NAACP Image Awards Amazing show!

The 41st NAACP Image Awards aired Friday, February 26, 2010 four days before the end of Black History month and I enjoyed every bit of it. This was an amazing depiction of a great multi-cultural award show with jam pack premier events and performances celebrating the outstanding achievements and performances of people of color in the arts (motion picture, television, recording, and literature), as well as those individuals or groups who promote social justice through their creative endeavors. If you missed it here is my recap of some highlights……

So, let’s start with what I thought was the funniest moment of Actor/producer Chris Rock, winner for Outstanding Comedy Series for “Everybody Hates Chris,” and “Good Hair” which was honored with Outstanding Documentary award that I totally love since I am so meticulous about my own hair! Presenting actress Gabourey Sidibe, winner for Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture for “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” (YOU GO GIRL!!) onstage with him grabbing what her mama gave her! Chris is a HOT mess!!

Following a whopping win of 5 wonderful awards for the whole cast of Precious: Mama Mo’Nique won for Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture, film’s director Lee Daniels won Outstanding Directing category and his whole cast won for Best Outstanding Film and Outstanding Best Independent Motion Picture. And Scriptwriter Geoffrey Fletcher who won Best Outstanding Writer Award in which I was honored to meet opening night of Precious at BAM located in Brooklyn, NY baby! Ahah Bang Bang!!

It’s only fitting to present Musician Carlos Santana (L) who performed the best number for me tonight but I’ll get back to that because the focus is currently on Winner for Best actor award role in “Invictus” Morgan Freeman (R) backstage Big Pimping! (Great job but OK wait a min is it just me but does MF have black gloves on inside? What is that all about?) Something to ponder about….

Onto my Soror and Divastating Actress Keshia Knight Pulliam, winner of Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series posing in the press room stopping all traffic with this distinguished chocolate dress on and her hair looks great! This is such a humble and beautiful picture!! OO-OOP

My other HOT looks for the night were….


Model Eva Marcille looking like a Fierce African-American Barbie doll

Anika Noni Rose onstage with the best dress she wore for the night

Actress Keke Palmer accepting the Outstanding Performance In A Youth/Children’s Program award onstage with a stunning flowing yellow grown but someone failed to tell her not to make faces on stage so not flattering!

Also Actress Taraji P. Henson looking stunning with her hubby to be Director/actor Tyler Perry. They fell in love on his movie set The Family That Preys. I bet they did more than just preying or hiding in the closet! Ahaha Bang, Bang!!!

Now to my NOT so hot looks for the night were…..

Ok disappointing but what happen to my Singer Toni Braxton who used to WHOA us with her stunning outfits! She has become a mommy and faded! Toni you still got it so no excuses because “You better work it woman!!”

Writer Shonda Rhimes really just BLAH and BORING!!! At the end of the day there is nothing more to say!

Love Actress Cicely Tyson and Debbi Morgan but really not hot! Cicely was the worst for me! Who dressed and styled her hair? She was looking like a she devil to me! Debbi looked dull and boring just like her hair! Better luck next year!!!

My Haitian Musician Wyclef Jean (who received an Award for all his service he’s done & much deserving) looking good but his wife my Haitian sister Marie Claudinette Jean I can’t say the same. I have to keep it 100 with you I’m not feeling her hair and dress!

To what annoyed me for the night was……. Musician Lenny Kravitz and actor/rapper LL Cool J backstage during the 41st NAACP Image awards both looking very sharp and tasty but really did they both need to have their sunglasses on all night?! I hate to see people where sunglasses at parties, different events in door or at night!! Dudes you guys know better than that Take them off! Come on I love shades but not on-stage…

Ending with the best performance for the night was Singer Keri Hilson and musician Wyclef Jean performance onstage with Musician Carlos Santana and Haitian band Tabou Combo showing the Caribbean cultural and carnival creative style! It’s sad it had to take a disaster to happen in Haiti for the Haitian cultural to be really embrace and highlighted on national TV but I am happy Haiti isn’t being forgotten like yesterday’s fashion!!!

Sashaying off,

Precious Pat V

Leave a Reply

