MOVIE REVIEW: WHY DID I GET MARRIED TOO

Hello Movie Goers!!!
What a great way to end Easter Sunday but of course by going to see a good movie with loving friends! If you haven’t seen it yet…. I don’t know what you are waiting for because “Tyler Perry‘s Why Did I Get Married Too?” – which Lionsgate released Friday — is a sequel to his popular film Why did I get Married?— was a HIT!!! I am so thankful my friends waited for me to get back from my college bus tour and we made it our business to support the movie for the opening weekend. So did majority of Brooklyn movie goers made it a movie night on Easter Sunday because all the early shows at all the movie theaters were sold out.
I know what you are thinking “sequels are usually not good” but I am here to tell you THIS WAS A GOOD MOVIE!! It served it purpose by entertaining me but it didn’t help me to see healthy African American marriages. Tyler continued the story of four couples coping with various marital crises and presented a lot of surprises in the movie. The movie was filled with suspense, drama, his usual mixture of broad, sitcom-style humor and a wide range of physical,  emotional and financial soapy melodramatics! You will be sitting at the end of your seat surprised by the actors, the plot and the scenes. I grade this movie an “A” for entertaining me and the audience!!
A brief synopsis on the movie: Four couples reunite for their annual vacation in order to socialize and to spend time analyzing their marriages. Their intimate week in the Beautiful Bahamas is disrupted by the arrival of an ex-husband, Mike (Richard T. Jones) determined to win back his recently remarried ex-wife, Sheila (Jill Scott). Sheila now married to good guy Troy (Lamman Rucker), is worried about her husband being out of work. Troy expressed his discomfort by the sudden reappearance of her dishonorable ex-husband, Mike who can come to terms he let a good woman go!! That is what happens when you think the grass is green on the other side!! Terry (TylerPerry) and his high-powered lawyer wife, Dianne (Sharon Leal), look happily married only to find out Perry suspects that she is having an affair. The unpredictable Angela (Tasha Smith) still is insanely guarded of her husband, Marcus (Michael Jai White) who is now a television sports reporter. Onto relationship expert Patricia (Janet Jackson) reveals that she and hubby Gavin (Malik Yoba) are on the verge of divorcing and boy what a world wind of a divorce battle!


However, things really heat up and got hotter upon the couples’ return home! Boy oh Boy, I told you too much already but trust and believe me this movie is worth watching for entertainment purposes only. I loved the beginning minus some dull and confuse moments in the actors faces, the middle and not so much the ending. The scene at the hospital and afterwards went down hill for me. After taking classes and working with clients on marital issues, really Janet (Pat) being a therapist you know that isn’t the way to resolve martial issues! Tyler clearly needed to work on the ending of this movie totally! Perry surprised me and the audience by pushing our buttons with the faith of two of the central characters. Stay tune because there will be a part three with surprising new cast members!!
If you saw the movie: What grade would you give the movie and please leave feedback as to why….. I can’t wait to read your take on the movie…………..
Mary J. Blige – No More Drama
Sashaying off,
Precious Pat V


Leave a Reply

